International Science Olympiads

The International Mathematics Competition (IMC)

About The IMC
The IMC is composed of 2 divisions:
  • Key Stage II Division (Upper Primary Education) -- EMIC
  • Key Stage III Division (Lower Secondary Education) -- IWYMIC
Both Divisions include individual and team contests. All participants must participate in both contests.
Mandate of our Organisation
For the International Mathematics Competition, The Science Olympiad Foundation serves the sole purpose of preparing and sending teams to represent the country at the IMC.
History of the IMC
The International World Youth Mathematics Competetion (IWYMIC) was first hosted in 1999, in Kaohsiung, Taiwan. Professor Leou Hsian of Kaohsiung National Normal University established this competition for junior high school students who loved math. For two years, IWYMIC was held in Kaohsiung where participating teams came mostly from countries in Southeast Asia. Then different countries took turns to hosted this competition every year until today.

The EMIC was originally started in 2003. Dr. Kajornpai Pramote of the Ministry of Education of Thailand gave life to (organized) EIMC with the support of Buddhist Temple, where 14 countries had participated. India, Philippines, Indonesia, and Hong Kong took turns to hosted EMIC until 2007. In 2008, EMIC came back to Thailand, and the Ministry of Education of Thailand combined the IWYMIC and EMIC together, and named it “International Math Competitions” (IMC).
Format of the Examinations
The Elementary Individual Contest Paper consists of 15 short answer questions that require only the answers and only need ARAB NUMERIC answers to fill in on a blank answer sheet. Each question is worth 10 points with a maximum total of 150 points.

The Secondary Level Individual Contest Paper consists of 12 short answer questions that require only the answers to be written in the blanks, and 3 essay questions require full solutions. The short answer question is worth 5 points each while the essay question is 20 points each, with a maximum total of 120 points.

The team contest paper for both categories consists of ten problems, arranged in increasing order of difficulty. Each question is printed on a separate sheet of paper. The four team members are allowed 10 minutes to discuss and distribute the first 8 questions among themselves; each student solves at least one question. Team members are not allowed to use a pencil or pen during the ten minutes discussion period. Each student will then have 35 minutes to write the solutions to allotted questions independently without further discussion or changing the questions. The four team members have 25 minutes to solve the last two questions together. Each question is worth 40 points and question 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10 require complete solutions for full credits. Partial credits may awarded.
Structure of National Team
Each participating country is allowed to nominate two teams for the Key-Stage II (Elementary Level) and two teams for the Key-Stage III (Secondary Level). Each team consists of upto 4 students. Each participating country is led by a team leader who is in charge of communicating with the organizing committee, managing and creating an online platform, and attending virtual conferences. The age CAP for the elementary level is 14 years of age, while for the secondary level is 17 years.